IPL 2020: Historic 2nd Super Over in KXIP’s win over MI

IPL 2020, MI vs KXIP: Why did Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami not bowl the 2nd Super Overs for their respective teams on Sunday? There was a lot of confusion after the 1st Super Over ended in a tie but Kings XI Punjab held their nerves and sealed 2 points on a Super Over Sunday in the Indian Premier League.

It was a long day in the office for the players, commentators as the Sunday, October 18 saw 3 Super Overs played across two matches for the first time in the history of the Indian Premier League. After Kolkata Knight Riders piped Sunrisers Hyderabad in the first Super Over of the day, the 2nd match between Kings XI Punjab and Mumbai Indians witnessed 2 Super Overs. A day of ties!

There was some confusion out in the middle and in the commentary box and among fans on social media afrer the first Super Over between KXIP and MI ended in a tie. Jasprit Bumrah bowled a brilliant over, removing KL Rahul and Nicholas Pooran to restrict Punjab to just 5 runs. Mohammed Shami returned the favour with another yorker-filled over, giving away just 5 runs as Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock fluffed what seemed an easy chase. De Kock was run out when Mumbai needed 2 runs from the final over of the 1st Super Over.

The match slipped into Monday and a 2nd Super Over. And that’s when both the team managements were put in a spot over lack of clariry over the rules for the 2nd Super Over.

The on-air commentators had mentioned that the same set of 8 players, including 3 batsmen and a bowler from each team, cannot bat or bowl in the 2nd Super Over. However, quite a few were puzzled to see Kieron Pollard walk out to bat despite the fact that he was the third batsman whom MI did not need in the 1st Super Over.

Kings XI Punjab, who had batted first in the first Super Over, were gearing up to bowl first in the 2nd Super Over. However, KXIP head coach Anil Kumble was having a brief discussion with the umpires along with batting coach Andy Flower.

The Indian Premier League website still has the old rules of Super Over wherein winners were declared on boundary counts after a tied Super Over.

What happens when a Super Over is tied? ICC’s guidelines (for T20Is) are as follows

If the Super Over is tied, then subsequent Super Overs shall be played until there is a winner.

In normal circumstances, any subsequent Super Over shall start 5 minutes after the previous Super Over ends.

The team batting second in the previous Super Over shall bat first in the subsequent Super Over.

The balls selected for use by each team in the previous Super Over shall be used again by the same team in any subsequent Super Over(s).

The fielding side shall bowl its over in a subsequent Super Over from the opposite end from which it bowled in the previous Super Over.

Any batsman dismissed in any previous Super Over shall be ineligible to bat in any subsequent Super Over.

Any bowler who bowled in the previous Super Over shall be ineligible to bowl in the subsequent Super Over.

In all other ways, the procedure for a subsequent Super Over shall be the same as for the initial Super Over.

Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle star in the 2nd Super Over win

Kings XI Punjab went on to win the 2nd Super Over, thanks to Mayank Agarwal’s all-round effort. The KXIP batsman stopped a six with a stunning save at the deep mid-wicket boundary in Jordan’s over as Mumbai Indians were restricted to 11 runs.

In reply, Chris Gayle smashed Trent Boult for a six in the first ball and Mayank Agarwal did the rest with 2 boundaries.

HIGHLIGHTS

  • Kings XI Punjab beat Mumbai Indians in hisotric 2nd Super Over of Match 36 at IPL 2020
  • Batsmen dismissed in Super Over can’t take part in subsequent Super Over
  • Bowlers bowled in a Super Over can’t take part in subsequent Super Over

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *